2011 Ken G Hall Award

Goes to David Hannay

David Hannay’s career began as an actor and has spanned seven decades. Mr Hannay is acknowledged for his involvement in and advocacy of the activities of the NFSA. He has assisted the NFSA in saving master material from productions in danger of complete destruction. He has worked actively with the NFSA to locate and preserve original film components and lobbied on behalf of archival interests, both in Australia and abroad. David remains an energetic producer, mentor and lobbyist, working to support and preserve filmmaking in its many forms.

David Hannay’s television credits include two award winning television series, The Godfathers and Number 96. His feature film credits include Stone, The Man From Hong Kong, the award-winning New Zealand feature Solo, Second World War dramas Death of a Soldier and Emma’s War, and Oliver Schmitz and Thomas Mogotlane’s anti-apartheid and multi award-winning film Mapantsula. Other feature credits include Shotgun Wedding, Gross Misconduct, Dead Funny, Savage Play, Love in Ambush and the feature documentary Stone Forever.

He has worked with 13 directors on their first feature films and at least as many first-time writers and producers. Hannay’s executive positions include Head of Production for Gemini Productions (which merged with the Grundy Organisation in 1977) from 1970 to 1973 and again from 1975 to 1976, and General Manager of the Greater Union production subsidiary The Movie Company in 1974. Since 1977 he has been an independent producer and chairman of his own production company.

David Hannay adds the Ken G Hall Film Preservation Award to a long series of industry acknowledgements. In 2009, in recognition of long and outstanding service to the industry of Australian Screen Production, he was awarded Life Membership of the Screen Producers Association of Australia (SPAA). He was the 2007 AFI Raymond Longford Award recipient. In 2008 he was awarded the Australian Screen Sound Guild’s Syd Butterworth Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2002 he was the inaugural recipient of the Screen Producers Association Maura Fay Award ‘for service to the industry’. In 1996 he received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Producers and Directors Guild of Australia.

Ken G Hall Film Preservation Award – previous recipients

2010 Patricia Lovell AM, MBE For three decades of involvement in the industry and her tireless work in promoting the need for preservation to film industry colleagues, politicians and the community at large and her firm belief in the value and importance of the NFSA.
2009 Ian Dunlop OAM In acknowledgement of his major contribution to the preservation of films of Australian Indigenous communities through his own work and his preservation and protection of the work of others.
2006 Paul Cox In acknowledgement of both his unique creative career and his long-term support of the NFSA.
2005 Phillip Noyce For his outstanding contribution to the art of film and to the cause of film preservation, particularly through the authentic treatment of archival footage in his 1978 film Newsfront, his long-term commitment to the preservation of his works through the NFSA, and his championing of the NFSA’s Kodak/Atlab Cinema Collection.
2004 Graham Shirley In recognition of his contribution to Australian film preservation. He is one of Australia’s most distinguished audiovisual archivists and historians.
2003 Tom Edward Nurse (posthumously) For a lifetime’s work in film laboratories throughout the world, but particularly in Australia and South East Asia. He was responsible for establishing the design of, and the working arrangements for, the specialist film preservation copying laboratories at the NFSA.
2002 Judy Adamson For her renowned research which has resulted in the preservation of much of our film heritage. She has been instrumental in conducting and collecting oral histories from the film industry and in documenting the history of government filmmaking in Australia.
2001 Murray Forrest For encouraging producers to offer negatives and print materials to the NFSA for safekeeping, resulting in the survival of many films over the years that may otherwise have been lost.
2000 Anthony Buckley AM For his vision and active support from the 1960s for the establishment of an autonomous NFSA, his consistent work in locating and facilitating the transfer of hundreds of important films into the NFSA’s care, for his service to the NFSA as a member of its Council and his role as a producer and director of feature films and television series that highlight Australia’s film history.
1999 Joan Long AM (posthumously) For creating a public awareness of Australian film history through productions such as The Passionate Industry (1973), The Pictures that Moved (1969) and The Picture Show Man (1977), for her dedication and commitment during the 1970s and 1980s to the development of a national archive for film and sound, and her role as Chair of the NFSA’s first Advisory Committee.
1997 Kodak Australasia Pty Ltd For its substantial long-term support for the NFSA including The Last Film Search project (1981), Slice of Life bicentennial project (1988), the Roger McKenzie Collection (1992) and the Association of South-East Asian Nations seminars (1995-1997).
1996 Peter Weir AM For his significant personal and financial commitment to the preservation of Australia’s film heritage including his support for the Last Film Search and the re-release of the classic 1955 film, [aso[Jedda]].
1995 Alan Rydge and Rupert Murdoch For the joint corporate sponsorship by Greater Union and News Corporation for the NFSA’s Operation Newsreel, a major collection and preservation program of Cinesound and Movietone newsreels.