Cold Turkey: I'll walk

Cold Turkey: I'll walk
WARNING: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander viewers are advised that the following program may contain images and/or audio of deceased persons
Access fees

Shane (John Moore) and Robby (Wayne Munro) have just been thrown out of a hotel, and now walk the streets of Alice Springs. Shane doesn’t want to walk home and breaks into a car. Shane harasses Robby to get into the car with him. Robby wakes up in jail, disoriented. Summary by Romaine Moreton.

The two brothers are on a self-destructive path, and we as the audience are taken along with them into a journey of blackouts and partially recovered memories.


Cold Turkey synopsis

A film about sibling rivalry. Robby (Wayne Munro) is leaving for Coober Pedy and a job in the opal fields but his older brother Shane (John Moore) doesn’t want to be abandoned in Alice Springs. He engineers a drunken night in the name of 'brotherly love’ that will have unforeseen consequences for them both.


Cold Turkey Curator's notes

One of the short features to come out of the Indigenous Unit at the Australian Film Commission, Cold Turkey is a story about sibling rivalry. It is a story that is told in a series of flashbacks and flashforwards, which at times may make it difficult to follow. Stylistically, it is true to the journey of the hero Robby (Wayne Munro), who in the story suffers from blackouts. A film from writer-director Steve McGregor, Cold Turkey is very much a men’s story.

Cold Turkey screened at many national and international film festivals in 2003, receiving a commendation from the jury of the Milan International Film Festival. At the 2003 AFI Awards, Cold Turkey was nominated for Best Screenplay in a Short Fiction Film (Steven McGregor) and the Award for Open Craft in a Non Feature Film (John Moore for acting).

Notes by Romaine Moreton

Production company:
CAAMA Productions
Priscilla Collins (AKA Cilla Collins)
Line producer:
Kath Shelper
Steve McGregor
Steve McGregor
David Bridie
Produced with the assistance of the Indigenous Branch of the Australian Film Commission