NFSA presents aspiring cinematographer with award

This Saturday 25 May, aspiring New South Wales cinematographer Dale Bremner will be presented with the prestigious 2013 NFSA-ACS John Leake OAM Award for an Emerging Cinematographer by the CEO of the National Film and Sound Archive (NFSA), Michael Loebenstein.

The Award, created in collaboration by the NFSA and the Australian Cinematographers Society (ACS), is designed to enable emerging cinematographers to develop their craft.

It will be presented at the ACS Annual Awards ceremony in Canberra. It is the only Australian event which celebrates Australians who have excelled in the field of cinematography.

NFSA CEO Michael Loebenstein said, 'Since the dawn of the Australian film industry cinematographers have captured this nation’s life and its stories. They craft the image of who we were, and who we want to be. It is an honour for us to contribute to the vibrancy of the sector by presenting this Award, particularly in 2013 when we celebrate 100 years of Film Australia and the nation’s filmic memory.

'Dale’s enthusiasm for visual storytelling speaks through his films, and the accolades he has won for his short film works establish him as one of the emerging talents of our industry. His intention to use the Award grant to further his skills and to explore new aspects of the craft of cinematography fits the purpose of the Award, to support training and knowledge and skills development’.

Receiving the Award, Dale Bremner said it had made his year. 'If I could find the words to convey the gratitude and appreciation I have for this incredible opportunity, I would be writing scripts, not shooting them.’

Dale is a young emerging cinematographer currently based around Sydney’s beautiful eastern beaches. His work includes fashion shoots, short films, documentaries, live concerts, TVC and music clips.

From 2007 to 2008 he attended the Canberra Institute of Technology gaining an Advanced Diploma of Media Production and in 2011 he received an Advanced Diploma of Cinematography from the International Film School in Sydney.

The Award comprises a cash grant to assist the winner in furthering his studies. Dale plans to use the Award for further study at the Australian Film Television and Radio School.


Media contact: Heather Millard,, 02 6248 2101.