Awards and lectures

Awards and lectures banner


The NFSA presents two annual awards to recognise significant contributions to the conservation and heritage of film and sound.

The NFSA Cochrane-Smith Award for Sound Heritage recognises those who have enriched Australian culture through a substantial contribution to the preservation, survival and recognition of sound heritage. It is named for Fanny Cochrane-Smith, who features on the only known recording of Tasmanian Aboriginal songs and language.

The NFSA Ken G Hall Film Preservation Award acknowledges individuals, groups of individuals or corporations for their outstanding contribution to the art of moving image and its preservation. Initiated in 1995, the award is inspired by Ken G Hall AO, OBE, one of Australia’s leading film directors and producers who strongly advocated cinema and its preservation.

The NFSA National Folk Recording Award was established in 2001 to encourage and reward excellence in Australian folk music recording. Award entrants are selected from recordings submitted each year to the National Folk Festival in Canberra.

The NFSA-ACS John Leake OAM Award for an Emerging Cinematographer, first presented in 2010, is designed to enable emerging cinematographers to develop their craft. The award is presented annually at the Australian Cinematographers Society Awards and includes a cash prize of $5,000. It is named in honour of Australian Cinematographers Society co-founder and industry icon John Leake OAM ACS (1927-2009).

The NFSA welcomes public nominations for the awards. Please email with your suggestion.


The Longford Lyell Lecture celebrates the work of national and international screen personalities. Named in tribute to the creative partnership of film pioneers Raymond Longford and Lottie Lyell, it provides an opportunity to discuss cultural issues of major relevance in the art, industry and scholarship of the moving image.

The Thomas Rome Lecture provides a platform for a leading figure in the Australian sound recording industry to generate ideas, debate and discussion about the state of the sound industries, relevant public policy issues and the role of sound in society. It is named after Thomas Rome of Warrnambool, renowned for making the earliest known surviving Australian sound recording in 1896 with a novelty song called The Hen Convention.